Search the Catalog

Gale Virtual Research Library

Book Club

Library Book Clubs
Once again the Cohoes Public Library will be offering a Mystery book club for readers! This club is hosted by Anne Marie Koschnick and is free and open to the public. The Mystery Book Club meets on  the third Wednesday of each month at 10:30 am.

COMING October 16  at 10:30 am———-

The Mystery is “The President is Missing”

Who would know better about the life of a president under stress than a former president? James Patterson, the master of mystery, went straight to the source when he conceived of this thriller about a President who puts everything on the line to defend his country from a cyberterror attack. Co-written by Bill Clinton and Patterson, “The President is Missing” will keep you on the edge of your seat. Share your thoughts at the Mystery Book Club at 10:30 am on 10/16 at the Cohoes Public Library.

Bill Clinton had his share of controversy during his administration, so this book gave him a chance to share his thoughts and ideals. He was a Rhodes Scholar and as you read the book, you will see many parallels. And, what can be said of James Patterson? His books are too numerous to list and he generously supports libraries and children’s books. He has also helped launch the careers of many authors that he “co-wrote” books with.

The book features action and offers some ideas that are very thought provoking.

 

Questions about the book club? Email Anne Marie at akoschni@yahoo.com with “book club” in the subject line. We’d love to have you join us.

Mystery Club Book List 2019

January 16 – The ZigZag Girl – Elly Griffiths – 1st in the Stephens & Mephisto series (https://ellygriffiths.co.uk/ )

February 20 – The Silkworm – Robert Galbraith – 2nd in the Cormoran Strike series  (https://robert-galbraith.com/ )

March 20 – Conan Doyle for the Defense – Margalit Fox – true crime mystery  (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Margalit_Fox )

April 17 – Pieces of Her – Karin Slaughter – stand alone novel  (https://www.karinslaughter.com/ )

May 15 – A Killing in the Hills – Julia Keller – 1st in the Bell Elkins series (http://www.juliakeller.net/ )

June 19 – Locked In – Marcia Muller – Sharon McCone series (http://www.marciamullerbooks.com/)

July 17- Murder at the Breakers – Alyssa Maxwell – 1st in the Newport Gilded Series (https://www.alyssamaxwell.com/ )

August 21 – Mr. Churchill’s Secretary – Susan Elia MacNeal – 1st in the Maggie Hope Series (http://www.susaneliamacneal.com/ )

September 18 – Notorious – Allison Brennan – 1st in the Max Revere series (http://www.allisonbrennan.com/ )

October 16 – The President is Missing – James Patterson & Bill Clinton –  (http://www.jamespatterson.com/ )

November 20 – Turkey Trot Murder – Leslie Meier – Lucy Stone holiday murder   (http://www.lesliemeierbooks.com/ )

December 18 – Silent Night: A Spenser Holiday Novel – Robert Parker with Helen Brann (https://www.robertbparker.net/book-display.php?ISBN=0425271617)

Updated 12/11/18