Search the Catalog

Gale Virtual Research Library

Book Club

Library Book Clubs
Once again the Cohoes Public Library will be offering a Mystery book club for readers! This club is hosted by Anne Marie Koschnick and is free and open to the public. The Mystery Book Club meets on  the third Wednesday of each month at 10:30 am.

COMING November 20 at 10:30 am———-

Let’s Talk “Turkey Trot Murders”

November is a busy month, so the Mystery Book Club is going light with a Leslie Meier holiday cozy: “Turkey Trot Murders”. This is the 24th in the popular Lucy Stone series that takes place in Tinker’s Cove, Maine. As bonus for November, the club is asking people to share their favorite recipes or traditions which will be incorporated into an ebook and sent out in December. They can be brought to the meeting on November 20, at 10:30 am at the Cohoes Public Library. Or, you can email them directly to Anne Marie at akoschni@yahoo.com with ”book club” in the subject line.

Leslie Meier began writing in the late 80’s while attending grad school at Bridgewater State College. In order to be certified to teach high school English, one of her courses was Writing and Teaching Writing. Her teacher was so impressed with the paper, he suggested she submitted it for publication, and so, she sent it to Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine of First Stories – and the rest is history. Much like Lucy Stone, Leslie is a mother of three, and a grandmother. And, her family has aged similar to Lucy’s – though, they have now reached an age-plateau. She lives in an old farmhouse, similar to Lucy’s, but on Cape Cod, not Maine. She also has a background in writing for small town newspapers. As Mark Twain said – she writes what she knows! The series has been successful from the first book “Mistletoe Murder” (1991) (originally called “Mail-Order Murder) to #26 -“Invitation Only Murder” (due 11/26/19) and cover almost every holiday you can think of.  Sit back, take a break from the holiday stress, and “cozy” up to a mystery by Leslie Meier.

Questions about the book club? Email Anne Marie at akoschni@yahoo.com with “book club” in the subject line. We’d love to have you join us.

Mystery Club Book List 2019

January 16 – The ZigZag Girl – Elly Griffiths – 1st in the Stephens & Mephisto series (https://ellygriffiths.co.uk/ )

February 20 – The Silkworm – Robert Galbraith – 2nd in the Cormoran Strike series  (https://robert-galbraith.com/ )

March 20 – Conan Doyle for the Defense – Margalit Fox – true crime mystery  (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Margalit_Fox )

April 17 – Pieces of Her – Karin Slaughter – stand alone novel  (https://www.karinslaughter.com/ )

May 15 – A Killing in the Hills – Julia Keller – 1st in the Bell Elkins series (http://www.juliakeller.net/ )

June 19 – Locked In – Marcia Muller – Sharon McCone series (http://www.marciamullerbooks.com/)

July 17- Murder at the Breakers – Alyssa Maxwell – 1st in the Newport Gilded Series (https://www.alyssamaxwell.com/ )

August 21 – Mr. Churchill’s Secretary – Susan Elia MacNeal – 1st in the Maggie Hope Series (http://www.susaneliamacneal.com/ )

September 18 – Notorious – Allison Brennan – 1st in the Max Revere series (http://www.allisonbrennan.com/ )

October 16 – The President is Missing – James Patterson & Bill Clinton –  (http://www.jamespatterson.com/ )

November 20 – Turkey Trot Murder – Leslie Meier – Lucy Stone holiday murder   (http://www.lesliemeierbooks.com/ )

December 18 – Silent Night: A Spenser Holiday Novel – Robert Parker with Helen Brann (https://www.robertbparker.net/book-display.php?ISBN=0425271617)

Updated 12/11/18