Search the Catalog

Gale Virtual Research Library

Book Club

Library Book Clubs
Once again the Cohoes Public Library will be offering a Mystery book club for readers! This club is hosted by Anne Marie Koschnick and is free and open to the public. The Mystery Book Club meets on  the third Wednesday of each month at 10:30 am.

COMING April 17, 2019  at 10:30 am———-

Gather For Some “Pieces of Her” at the Mystery Book Club

Georgian Karin Slaughter has been published in 37 languages. That testifies to the popularity of her work. The more than 35 million copies that have been sold worldwide include the Will Trent series with GBI special agent Will Trent, his partner Faith Mitchell and Angie Polaski; the Grant County series, set in Heartsdale, Georgia with Sara Linton, town’s pediatrician and part-time coroner, her ex-husband, Jeffrey Tolliver who is the chief of police and detective Lena Adams and stand alone novels like this month’s “Pieces of Her.”

A big supporter of libraries and librarians, who she credits with giving her the tools, aka, books, that helped get her started on her writing career, she is the founder of the “Save the Libraries” project which has raised more than $300,000 for the DeKalb County Library Foundation. She has been quoted as saying that “Libraries are the backbone of our educational infrastructure, and they are slowly being broken by bankrupt municipalities and apathetic politicians.”

In “Pieces,” Andrea Cooper has a good life with her mom, Laura, that is until a shooting at a mall reveals that her quiet mom is not who she seems to be. For 30 yrs. Laura has been hiding a secret and now, piece by piece, Andrea is finding out just who her mother is.

Join the Mystery Book Club and share your thoughts about Andrea, Laura and Karin Slaughter’s work.

Questions about the book club? Email Anne Marie at akoschni@yahoo.com with “book club” in the subject line. We’d love to have you join us.

Mystery Club Book List 2019

January 16 – The ZigZag Girl – Elly Griffiths – 1st in the Stephens & Mephisto series (https://ellygriffiths.co.uk/ )

February 20 – The Silkworm – Robert Galbraith – 2nd in the Cormoran Strike series  (https://robert-galbraith.com/ )

March 20 – Conan Doyle for the Defense – Margalit Fox – true crime mystery  (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Margalit_Fox )

April 17 – Pieces of Her – Karin Slaughter – stand alone novel  (https://www.karinslaughter.com/ )

May 15 – A Killing in the Hills – Julia Keller – 1st in the Bell Elkins series (http://www.juliakeller.net/ )

June 19 – Locked In – Marcia Muller – Sharon McCone series (http://www.marciamullerbooks.com/)

July 17- Murder at the Breakers – Alyssa Maxwell – 1st in the Newport Gilded Series (https://www.alyssamaxwell.com/ )

August 21 – Mr. Churchill’s Secretary – Susan Elia MacNeal – 1st in the Maggie Hope Series (http://www.susaneliamacneal.com/ )

September 18 – Notorious – Allison Brennan – 1st in the Max Revere series (http://www.allisonbrennan.com/ )

October 16 – The President is Missing – James Patterson & Bill Clinton –  (http://www.jamespatterson.com/ )

November 20 – Turkey Trot Murder – Leslie Meier – Lucy Stone holiday murder   (http://www.lesliemeierbooks.com/ )

December 18 – Silent Night: A Spenser Holiday Novel – Robert Parker with Helen Brann (https://www.robertbparker.net/book-display.php?ISBN=0425271617)

Updated 12/11/18