Search the Catalog

Gale Virtual Research Library

Book Club

Library Book Clubs
Once again the Cohoes Public Library will be offering a Mystery book club for readers! This club is hosted by Anne Marie Koschnick and is free and open to the public. The Mystery Book Club meets on  the third Wednesday of each month at 10:30 am.

COMING March 20, 2019  at 10:30 am———-

Conan Doyle for the Defense: The True Story of a Sensational British Murder, a Quest for Justice and the World’s Most Famous Detective Writer

Yes, it’s a long title, but Margalit Fox’s book is long on interest as she explores a forgotten case from the early 1900’s. In 1908, Marion Gilchrist was found bludgeoned in her Glasgow home. Early on in the investigation, the police decided that a German Jew expat was guilty. The evidence was flimsy and circumstantial, but the mood at the time didn’t favor Germans or Jews. So, Oscar Slater was arrested and convicted. After the trial, Slater’s attorneys reached out to Conan Doyle to help them. So, Doyle, famous for his fictional detective, Sherlock Holmes, used the techniques that he wrote about to try to help exonerate Slater. Does he succeed? If so, how?

Margalit Fox was originally trained as a cellist and holds a bachelor and a master degree from Stony Brook U and a master in journalism from Columbia University. She worked for 24 years at the New York Times both as a staff editor at the NY Times Book review and as a member of the newspaper’s celebrated obituary news department. She was responsible for the obits of many famous and not-so-famous people. She has also authored “Talking Hands: What Sign Language Reveals about the Mind” and “The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code.” She lives in Manhattan with her husband, the writer and critic George Robinson.

Mystery Club Book List 2019

January 16 – The ZigZag Girl – Elly Griffiths – 1st in the Stephens & Mephisto series (https://ellygriffiths.co.uk/ )

February 20 – The Silkworm – Robert Galbraith – 2nd in the Cormoran Strike series  (https://robert-galbraith.com/ )

March 20 – Conan Doyle for the Defense – Margalit Fox – true crime mystery  (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Margalit_Fox )

April 17 – Pieces of Her – Karin Slaughter – stand alone novel  (https://www.karinslaughter.com/ )

May 15 – A Killing in the Hills – Julia Keller – 1st in the Bell Elkins series (http://www.juliakeller.net/ )

June 19 – Locked In – Marcia Muller – Sharon McCone series (http://www.marciamullerbooks.com/)

July 17- Murder at the Breakers – Alyssa Maxwell – 1st in the Newport Gilded Series (https://www.alyssamaxwell.com/ )

August 21 – Mr. Churchill’s Secretary – Susan Elia MacNeal – 1st in the Maggie Hope Series (http://www.susaneliamacneal.com/ )

September 18 – Notorious – Allison Brennan – 1st in the Max Revere series (http://www.allisonbrennan.com/ )

October 16 – The President is Missing – James Patterson & Bill Clinton –  (http://www.jamespatterson.com/ )

November 20 – Turkey Trot Murder – Leslie Meier – Lucy Stone holiday murder   (http://www.lesliemeierbooks.com/ )

December 18 – Silent Night: A Spenser Holiday Novel – Robert Parker with Helen Brann (https://www.robertbparker.net/book-display.php?ISBN=0425271617)

Updated 12/11/18